Costco before a Snowstorm

Day 12 March SOLSC #sol17

The snow is coming.  They’re saying that it’s going to be a Nor’easter with significant snowfall – blizzard like conditions.  It’s been all over the weather reports.  And what did we do yesterday?   We took a family trip to Costco!

It didn’t occur to me what Costco would be like due to the upcoming storm.  Going to Costco on Saturday is always risky business.  But on a Saturday as a snowstorm is approaching, is just….well…..probably not the brightest idea.  But since my husband and I are a little bit competitive, we decided that we weren’t going to let Costco beat us.

For the first time, we had to park in the lower lot of our Costco.  Which actually turns out to be a better choice (that’s where I’ll be parking from now on).  We parked our truck, I looked at him, closed my eyes, took a deep breath, and got out of the car.  I took Emma’s hand while we were walking and said “Honey, it is really, really crowded here today.  I need you to be a helper.  Maybe we’ll even get you something special if you can help us out.”  I was already in survival mode, bribing my daughter!

When we got inside, it wasn’t so bad.  I was pleasantly surprised.  I mean there were people pushing carts everywhere, but that’s a typical Saturday at Costco.  I took my list and pen out of my bag and we made our plan of attack.  (such a creature of habit – always starting with the same aisles).  We weaved through the aisles, encountering a few people on the way who could use some shopping cart driving lessons and perhaps should have to take a road test before being allowed push a cart.  At one point, Brad and Emma went off a different way to “check stuff out.”  I just kept on putting things in the cart and crossing them off the list.  Before I knew it, everything was crossed off (only 2 things made it into the cart that weren’t on the it) and it was time to check out.

As we approached the front of the store, that’s when it happened – the realization that Costco before a storm was a bad, bad idea.  The people.  The noise.  The lines.  The chaos.   I took a deep cleansing breath and moved ahead.  We tried going down the center – no good. We tried going down the side – a little better.   We attacked this line as a team – Emma and I in the front guiding Brad and the cart behind us.  We eased forward, “Oh sure, Mister Oblivious, you can just cut and squeeze in front of us, no problem,” I said under my breath so Emma wouldn’t hear me.  We moved forward a little more, and then in the blink of an eye, we were checking out.  For the first time ever, we picked the right line!  It must have been my lucky day!  We only spent a total of 1.5 hours in the store, two days before a huge snowstorm is supposed to hit.  I’d say that’s a Costco success story!

A huge thank you to  Anna, Beth, Betsy, Deb, Kathleen, Lisa, Lanny, Melanie, and Stacey for all that they do to create a supportive community of writers and a safe, welcoming space to write, learn, share and grow.  twowritingteachers.orgscreen-shot-2017-02-22-at-10-42-06-am

3 thoughts on “Costco before a Snowstorm

  1. I enjoyed your adventure through Costco as I have experienced it on a Saturday and it is not a pretty picture. So I know how the impending snowstorm would ramp the fever up. I tend to lose family for a period of time every time I go and must fall back to calling on the cell. Checkout is the worst! Glad you made it through quickly.

    Like

  2. I felt like I was there with you! My 15 y.o. and I read this post together and were both laughing out loud. We’ve got snow coming tomorrow… maybe we should head out to Costco to stock up!

    Like

  3. This may seem like an innocuous slice, but it will be a memory for your Emma, a story to tell again and again when you remember this snowstorm. Thanks for taking us along on your Costco trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

