Six word stories

Day 21 – March SOLSC #sol17

A while back I came across a post that made reference to Ernest Hemingway’s six word story: For sale: baby shoes, never worn.  It made me remember the book I bought after a supervisor mentioned it at a meeting: Not Quite What I Was Planning – Six Word Memoirs, and I dug it off the shelf.  However, then I forgot all about it and just rediscovered the book tonight.  As I sat and flipped through the pages, I thought I’d give this six word story a try. Once I got started, I had other ideas popping into my head.  It’s hard to tell a story in just six words, so I told lots of six word stories.

Wife, mom, teacher:  happy, fulfilled, exhausted.

Have two brothers: Younger one’s good.

Found my soulmate in Staten Island.

God’s greatest gift – my beautiful daughter.

Only one daughter – more than enough!

Stubborn little girl makes mommy drink.

Lost my dad – heart’s still broken.

Striving to be strong, like mom.

Feeling more like a writer. Amazing!

Writing every day makes me happy.

Took the writing challenge.  No regrets.

First Grade – never a dull moment.

What’s your six word story or stories?  Give it a try!

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-10-42-06-am

Thank you to the team of writers at Two Writing Teachers for created this amazing writing community!

19 thoughts on “Six word stories

  1. I really love six word stories! I love the one about making mommy drink. lol. And the “took the writing challenge. no regrets.” It’s cool to see how you started playing around with punctuation. Thanks for reminding me of this cool genre!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this idea-may have to try for one of my slices. This one is one of my favorites—Took the writing challenge. No regrets.—Ditto my friend…this has been such a great writing journey. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never tried this, but seems like it could get addicting once you get started! It’s a fun way to tell a lot about yourself in such few words. I think I need my notebook….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow – so many ideas! I love all of them, but will choose two favorites – “Lost my dad – heart’s still broken. & Striving to be strong, like mom.” In just a few short memoirs, I already learned so much about you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is awesome! I will definitely be using this in a future post and with my students! I think what I am most amazed by is how much you can say in only six words. “Have two brothers – younger one’s good.” That says so much! 🙂 There are stories waiting to be told just from six words. I love this! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teaching, drinking, parenting- friends across journeys

    I’m loving your blog, my dear old friend. Getting to read daily slices of you makes me miss you less. I love you and I’m very proud of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

