Life Lesson for Today

 

I thought I was going to have nothing to write about for today’s Slice.  I mean I could write about how my daughter made her First Holy Communion this weekend.  It was a great time – but, ehh I wasn’t really feeling that slice.  Or I could write about how PawPaw and Grammy flew up from South Carolina for the weekend for the communion  – but, again, ehhh I wasn’t really feeling that idea either.  There’s too many parts and I could write a few slices about it, so I’ll save those for another day.  So, there I was last night thinking to myself “What in the world am I going to write about tomorrow?”  And then this morning happened….

It was just a typical morning in our house.  I was running around like a lunatic trying to get myself ready for school before waking up Emma.  “Am I going to get happy Emma or mad Emma?” I thought to myself.   Luckily, happy Emma decided to show up this morning – well, for the most part.   And thank goodness for that because of course, I was running a little behind schedule. Why does this always seem to happen when I need to get to work a teeny bit earlier?

Anyway, while Emma was brushing her teeth and hair in the bathroom, I was trying to fix my hair in the hallway (we have another mirror there).  Since I was running late, I decided it was going to be a ponytail day – quick and easy (or so I thought).  While I was brushing my wet hair into the ponytail, I started to get what felt like a muscle spasm in my back by my shoulder blades.  But, instead of stopping what I was doing that was probably causing the pain (because that would’ve been too smart), I continued to brush and brush and then attach the hair band, as the pain worsened.  I, apparently, just couldn’t abandon the hair – a decision I now regret.  Once I finished twisting on the hair band and put my arms down, I couldn’t bend my neck or turn my head without feeling pain radiating down my back, up my neck, and through my shoulder blade.  I tried to stretch – it got worse.  I tried to lay flat and stretch – it got worse.  Today was my first graders show for their parents, so I gathered the rest of my things (slowly), took some ibuprofen, and got on my way.

I completely believe that everyone learns something new every day.  And all day today, as I was trying to manage the pain, I was trying to figure out what lesson I was supposed to learn from this morning’s turn of events.  Here’s the two life lessons I came up with –

  1. I need to make sure to stretch before brushing my hair (and all other activities that may require movement).
  2. I need to do some (ok,
    a lot of) strength training exercises so I don’t injure myself carrying out my day to day activities.  I mean, if I can get hurt doing my hair, imagine what could happen if I were to clean the bathroom?!?

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-10-42-06-am

Thank you to the team of writers at Two Writing Teachers for this wonderful writing community where we can write and read slices and grow together as writers.  

7 thoughts on “Life Lesson for Today

  1. This happened to me in the middle of the night when I turned over in bed and two weeks later, I was having surgery on a herniated disc in my neck. Please be careful. For me, the muscle spasms were so great that I could not function. I hope your pain was just muscles. I’m guessing since you were able to write your slice that you are feeling better. Ice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you should definitely swear off of cleaning the bathroom…or any other physical activities that might exacerbate your back and neck! 😉 Thank you for sharing and I hope you feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh no! you definitely can NOT clean the bathroom!! 🙂 It is weird that we can pull or tweak something just by moving the wrong way! As kids I could sit like a pretzel for hours or jump out of a tree with barefeet and now I could pull a muscle shaving my legs!! ugh. I feel your pain. Oh and I Hope you’re feeling better after some relaxing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have done this too and right now I’m suffering from a stiff neck. I can’t turn to the right very far or else sharp pains that are almost nauseating shoot up my neck. I hope you feel better in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

