Mornings

This week I get the pleasure of being on Spring Break and we’re having a staycation (the hubby isn’t off this week).  I was inspired to write this poem, by waking up to this gorgeous morning and not having to rush around.  I think I can appreciate these mornings because they aren’t my every day thing.  Enjoy! 

 

A usual morning-

Rush, rush rush

Alarms blaring, WAKE up!

Jump out of bed

Quick make coffee, lunches in the bags

Jump in the shower, brush your teeth,

dry your hair, get dressed,

Shoot – coffee’s cold

back for a new cup, “ahh that’s better”

Wake up E and let the battle begin

Out the door, run run run

Do I have everything?  Hope so, off I go!

But a vacation morning –

Eyes flicker open – then close, open – then close

stretch and roll, looks like B went to work

gaze out window

feel the breeze

the orange glow of the sun peeking in

birds singing their morning songs

s-l-o-w-l-y get out of bed

time for some coffee

sit by the window –

alone in the quiet of the morning

staring out at the river –

Sipping, thinking, breathing

Just being…

What will I do today?

Enjoy it!

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 7.49.02 AM

 

Thank you to everyone at the Two Writing Teachers for starting this community of writers where we can all learn and grow together.

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-10-42-06-am

 

One thought on “Mornings

Leave a comment